Statement of Colorado Hispanic Bar Association on Club Q Shooting


November 21, 2022 - Denver, Colorado 

The Colorado Hispanic Bar Association (CHBA) is deeply saddened by the recent shooting at Club Q in Colorado Springs. CHBA stands with our LGBTQ+ members,the Colorado LGBTQ Bar Association,the El Paso County Bar Association, and other Bar associations and groups in condemning the attack. There is no place for such senseless violence and hate. 

CHBA supports the belief that an attack against one of us is an attack against all of us. CHBA and its members will support the LGBTQ+ community – which includes many members of the Hispanic community – as they process this tragedy and until justice is served for all those affected.

A Community Resource Event will be held at UCCS Kevin W. O’Neill Cybersecurity & Research Center (3650 N Nevada Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80907) to provide mental health resources, spiritual support, emotional support animals, childcare, emergency financial resources, LGBTQ+ support, meals, and other services.

Security for all attendees will be provided by uniformed Colorado Springs police officers. The event is designed to be an inclusive and safe space for all community members to gather, grieve, and obtain emotional support. This event is not open to the media for interviews or camera footage.

Tuesday, November 22, 2022, 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday, November 23, 2022, 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Join us!


It is election season again, and not just in Washington!  CHBA’s nominations period is now open for the 2023 term.

All nominations for elected positions to the CHBA Board of Directors are due to President-Elect Amber Gonzales on or before November 1, 2022.  Send nominations to

Elections will be held December 6 through 13, 2022, per CHBA’s bylaws. Only members in good standing (which means dues are paid up to date) are eligible for election or to vote.

Frequently Asked Election Questions

Which positions are elected?

Elected positions include:

  • President-Elect (to serve as President in 2024);
  • Vice President of Committees;
  • Treasurer;
  • Secretary; and 
  • nine At-Large Director positions.

May I nominate myself?


What form must nominations take?

Whether nominating yourself or someone else, there is no specific format for nominations; you need only email President-Elect Amber Gonzales to put forth a nomination.  For contested positions, the Board may request additional information to circulate to the membership after nominations are submitted.

What are the qualifications to serve on the Board of Directors?

You must be a CHBA member in good standing, which includes being up-to-date on your membership dues.  You can see the status of your membership by going to and logging in (on the upper right corner).

What are the qualifications to vote in the upcoming election?

            The qualifications to vote are the same to serve on the Board—you must be a CHBA member in good standing, which includes being up-to-date on your membership dues. 

If I do not run for a position, how else can I get involved?

CHBA welcomes your involvement whether you choose to run for a position or not!  We encourage you to join or lead one of our committees.  Contact Amber Gonzales for more info!          ·     ·             

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software